The Journey…

If you’re reading this and you find yourself wanting to grow up faster, I want to tell you to wait and enjoy the journey, you’ll get to your destination eventually but if you don’t get lost along the way it won’t be worth it.

 

When I was younger I would write myself letters hoping that the older me was prettier, smarter, more successful with a closet that would make any girl jealous, I hoped that I was in love and wished such good things for myself, even asking that if I had a Chanel bag yet. I would never get to answer myself but if I did this is what I would say…

 

“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and on the days that we feel the ugliest there is a handsome man telling us the opposite, he is the knight in shinning armor that we have been waiting for, and damn was the wait worth it. I love him and he loves me, but before meeting him there was a lot of heart break but we never let those bring us down. We dusted ourselves off even when it felt like things couldn’t get better and we remained strong. Understand that loving someone so much only allows us to be vulnerable to unimaginable pain and loss when the love is gone, so know that with pain there will be healing and what doesn’t kill does make you stronger.

 

We have always been smart, though our decisions may not have always been the brightest; it has molded us to who we are today. I wish that I was a successful publicist, or designer or business woman we both wanted so badly to be, but working in the industry it was really easy to lose our soul and our minds. Right now we work in a little office in Old Town working for people who actually care about our well being and want us to succeed, one day when I truly know what I want with my life I will make another journey to make sure that I am successful in the way I want to be.

 

Our Prince Charming basically built us the Walk in Closet, from the fixtures to the shelves; he did that all, we did help but he took our vision and went with it. We have really nice things, beautiful clothes, handbags and shoes, everything you had wanted as a little girl but as we have gotten older the material things start to under weigh what is really important in life and that my dear is time. Time to spend with our family and friends, time to understand who we are becoming, time is the most critical thing and often forgotten. I am so thankful that my journey thus far has brought so much into my life, great friends, a better relationship with my parents, two baby bears provide unconditional love and a wonderful fiancé who has stood by my side through the good and bad.

 

Understand that we are lucky because we did not live a world of fear but embraced all the changes and has never let it consume us.”

 

Wanting to grow up isn’t bad, but don’t forget to take a moment and just enjoy it all.

Leave a Reply

